← Back to News List

Mildred Homa Receives Recognition at Awards Ceremony

UMBC 2017 Presidential Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony

2017 UMBC Presidential Faculty and Staff Award recipients

Hundreds gathered to celebrate colleagues’ achievements and dedication to the Retriever community at the UMBC Presidential Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony, held on April 5. The annual ceremony honors faculty and staff for their contributions to advancing the mission of UMBC and the state of Maryland, and for their commitments to teaching, learning, and excellence in research, scholarship and creative achievement.

The ceremony includes several prominent awards granted by UMBC as well as by the University System of Maryland (USM), including awards added in recent years specifically to recognize faculty and staff who demonstrate a strong commitment to student academic success, faculty career advancement, and problem-solving.

This year’s awardees include:

Presidential Teaching Faculty Award
Marc Zupan, associate professor of mechanical engineering

Presidential Research Faculty Award
Sarah Shin, professor of education and special assistant to the provost for academic initiatives

Presidential Distinguished Professional Staff Award
Wendy Martin, director of the Office of Technology Development

Presidential Distinguished Non-Exempt Staff Award
Ali Shahegh, accounting associate in Residential Life

USM Board of Regents’ Faculty Awards
Kathie Seley-Radtke, professor of chemistry and biochemistry
Donald Snyder, senior lecturer of media and communication studies

USM Board of Regents’ Staff Awards
Denise Atkinson, executive administrative assistant in The Graduate School
Paul Dillon, deputy chief of police
Mildred Homa, research administrator for marine biotechnology and IMET

Jakubik Family Endowment Award
Janet McGlynn, director emerita of communication and outreach, Office of Undergraduate Education

Karen L. Wensch Endowment Award for Outstanding Non-Exempt Staff
Abigail Granger, program management specialist, media and communication studies

Marilyn E. Demorest Award for Faculty Advancement

J. Kevin Eckert, professor and chair of sociology, anthropology, and health administration and policy

Posted: April 7, 2017, 1:11 PM